I know it's pathetic... and kind of sad... but I constantly think of love, though... other people seem to think of sex (or money? or both?) instead. I don't know if that's, um... an okay substitution? I'm always thinking of love or stories or both. Sometimes sex is involved, of course :D :D :D In both :D :D
Um. In this case it was precipitated by 'Sex Pistols' being reposted at
yaoi_daily, and in the current issues, everyone comments saying they prefer 'the gentleman' new love prospect to the main character, who's, um, a bastard. Forget the fact that it's hopeless to anyone who's read even one other manga, like ever, so it's ridiculous to still root for 'the Gentleman'; it NEVER happens (so why bother?!) Mostly it's that I personally resent rooting for 'the Gentleman' instead when that's his only good point. He's nice to the guy he likes. SO WHAT?! Argh.
I don't think it's that I like or 'just forgive' bastards, but I don't see what's so bloody great about being sensitive... maybe it's because -I'm- sensitive, ahahahahah. (Which probably makes the whole situation even weirder, since I probably wouldn't get so wound up if I wasn't, obviously.) I also get so frustrated by the fact that while most people -like- bastards in the 'he's so hot!' or 'oooh, mean boy! better shape up!!' way, they don't tend to... uh, empathize with them. Thus making the audience pretty damn insensitive themselves, unless 'sensitivity' is the equivalent to only seeing the 'victim' in the obvious place, where the 'victim' is supposed to be. Moreover, love doesn't -have- victims.
In the end, maybe that bothers me most of all. That whole immediate placing of blame that's behind 'the Bastard' and 'the Gentleman' binary. I hate the categorical one-or-the-other approach, because it just doesn't have anything to do with reality -and- it's just bloody mean and hypocritical most of all. Love makes us all pathetic, makes us all heroes, makes us all victims. Why do people -have- to insist there are good guys and bad guys in these scenarios; why is 'the Gentleman' supposedly better when everyone -knows- you -really- want to choose 'the Bastard' and probably would in real life anyway? Why can't there be temporary, relative definitions that actually fit? ARGH.
So I skipped ahead and next chapter there's this quote by the guy they're fighting over (Nori), which made me feel better so I'm quoting it:
It's because you acted so nice that I was mistaken! Don't be cold to me. I don't want you to be violent with me... but I don't want you to be nice... if you won't love me....
"Look only at me."
You're so cruel... how can you say something so misleading with such a straight face....
It's okay even if you're cruel... even if you're cold... or if you're rough... be so cruel to me that I become bruised and can't think... don't be nice.
I want a wave to come along and sweep me away without a word.
Not that I don't like fluff sometimes, but. Newsflash: love is cruel. That's why it's good.
Um. In this case it was precipitated by 'Sex Pistols' being reposted at
I don't think it's that I like or 'just forgive' bastards, but I don't see what's so bloody great about being sensitive... maybe it's because -I'm- sensitive, ahahahahah. (Which probably makes the whole situation even weirder, since I probably wouldn't get so wound up if I wasn't, obviously.) I also get so frustrated by the fact that while most people -like- bastards in the 'he's so hot!' or 'oooh, mean boy! better shape up!!' way, they don't tend to... uh, empathize with them. Thus making the audience pretty damn insensitive themselves, unless 'sensitivity' is the equivalent to only seeing the 'victim' in the obvious place, where the 'victim' is supposed to be. Moreover, love doesn't -have- victims.
In the end, maybe that bothers me most of all. That whole immediate placing of blame that's behind 'the Bastard' and 'the Gentleman' binary. I hate the categorical one-or-the-other approach, because it just doesn't have anything to do with reality -and- it's just bloody mean and hypocritical most of all. Love makes us all pathetic, makes us all heroes, makes us all victims. Why do people -have- to insist there are good guys and bad guys in these scenarios; why is 'the Gentleman' supposedly better when everyone -knows- you -really- want to choose 'the Bastard' and probably would in real life anyway? Why can't there be temporary, relative definitions that actually fit? ARGH.
So I skipped ahead and next chapter there's this quote by the guy they're fighting over (Nori), which made me feel better so I'm quoting it:
It's because you acted so nice that I was mistaken! Don't be cold to me. I don't want you to be violent with me... but I don't want you to be nice... if you won't love me....
"Look only at me."
You're so cruel... how can you say something so misleading with such a straight face....
It's okay even if you're cruel... even if you're cold... or if you're rough... be so cruel to me that I become bruised and can't think... don't be nice.
I want a wave to come along and sweep me away without a word.
Not that I don't like fluff sometimes, but. Newsflash: love is cruel. That's why it's good.
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:09 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:10 am (UTC)....no, really. Though this manga is really cracked-out and has mpreg and furries (like, people-who're-really-animals-but-not) and various and sundry insanity. Um. But some of them are straight (gay) smut and funny, too :> :>
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:14 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:25 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:41 am (UTC)Or maybe you are just a sucker for these types of things.
no subject
Date: 2006-04-25 06:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-26 12:30 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-26 08:52 am (UTC)Sometimes the semes really are useless turds, but with Kunimasa it just sort of takes a while-- this is the arc where that happens, too, so I shouldn't be this impatient, but I remember reading it initially and resenting the new guy 'cause he's so... milque toast? I was talking about triangles recently, and
AND! Omg, I've been ...er... so offline last few weeks, I just realized it's your birthday! (Well, just past!) :X :X :X I wish I could write something for you :( Though if you have a non-H/D request, something might click :>
no subject
Date: 2006-04-27 04:53 am (UTC)Non-H/D? Er...
no subject
Date: 2006-04-27 05:23 pm (UTC)Er... yeah. You must like -something- besides H/D.... or, well, Snape/Draco (I think?) which is actually just as difficult... H/S might be really weird, especially if I tried to write post-HBP o_0 HAHAHA the idea is cute though. Or, y'know, something completely unexpected; I think sometimes I do better with that out of sheer startlement :-?
no subject
Date: 2006-04-29 02:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-04-26 07:06 am (UTC)*disagrees so much*
That is the opposite (to me) of why love is good. Now maybe... in fiction... conflict is good. So unfrought love has a higher risk of being dull, but... that's not generally the endpoint I want when I'm reading a romance-y type thing. I want eventual connection and non-hurting your beloved and being good to them.
He's nice to the guy he likes. SO WHAT?! Argh.
I don't think it's that I like or 'just forgive' bastards, but I don't see what's so bloody great about being sensitive... maybe it's because -I'm- sensitive
T_T<---driven to emoticons by your dismissal of adherence to basic human social niceities. Nice is underrated, man. And there's also a difference between being sensitive to one's own feelings and being sensitive to other's. The 2nd is pretty rare. But yeah, the "gentleman" almost never wins in manga, so I'm trying not to get my hopes up. At least I can also almost certainly count on the fact that the "bastard" always really has a squishy sweet center and heart of gold.
no subject
Date: 2006-04-26 09:00 am (UTC)Anyway, yeeeah, should really quit it with the Reena!shorthand... I've really gotten so sloppy... but can't bring myself to care ><;; haha
And yeahhhh, er... the 'what's so bloody great about being sensitive' = also iffy and emotional-outbursty of me :> I was more fixating on other people and how they're nice enough to like the nice guys in stories, but what's -really- nice is liking the not-so-nice guys. That was my real point. However, since I wasn't trying v. hard and just ranting, that point got lost in the shuffle.
Also, since it's love, what 'social niceties'? Heh. It's all context with me, baby... in general, I'm not for people being randomly cruel to strangers, but then Kunimasa is actually nicer to (male) people than say, Yonekuni. :> What I was -really- saying is that people aren't nice TO KUNIMASA :>
no subject
Date: 2006-04-27 08:18 am (UTC)(I actually just find Kunimasa kinda dull, not bastard-y, so this is all fairly tangential to Sex Pistols anyway...and I've read enough Kotobuki Tarako to know that she pretty much has like 3-4 archetypes and so I know almost exactly how things will play out. But I love certain lame romance novel formulae, so not a problem AT ALL. Also: happy ending almost guaranteed! woo!)
no subject
Date: 2006-04-27 05:15 pm (UTC)Speaking of bastards that are actually interesting... I feel like reccing you Manna's Administration series (http://www.mannazone.org/zone/admin/index.html). You -might- like it, if anything because it's both gritty and romancey (meaning, not tragic or anything-- happi-endo!). And the BDSM bits are really not over-the-top and fit well overall. Given, Toreth sort of transcends 'bastard' and goes straight into 'psychopath', but he kind of grew on me, because he's so unapologetic and because Warrick is definitely not a sucker, so their power games are actually interesting. I thought it was complex & more original than 'original slash' generally gets, so. Give it a try if you're not in too much of a sentimental mood :>